A day I remember


On this day last year I was traveling back to the US from Beijing. The time difference between continents gave me this day to live twice, an evenly-odd day, 11/11/11. I would have thought I would spend the chance at re-living a day doing something significant with all of the extra hours that I suddenly gained. May be right a wrong, change a decision to re-write my future.. But as it turned out, the hours gained ended up being spent in eating extra meals, walking around in the airports, and sleeping between destinations. Nothing to be called extra-ordinary, but just a piece of memory, of a unique day of my life. 

Breakfast in Beijing, lunch in Shanghai, several more meals on the air plane.. and breakfast again in Los Angeles. Sick from airplane turbulence, distressed about last minute gifts, and finally excited to be planting my feet again on the loving U.S soil.

After all, it’s not often one gets to eat at so many world-wide destinations in just one single day! In honor of that memory, I’d like to share highlights of the things that I got to do on the days that lead to to 11/11/11:

  • saw Shanghai water town

066      051

  • visited Forbidden City & Palaces

052        046     imperial gardent      158

Great Wall 11-7-11 115

066

ko       opu

  • wandered Wangfujing night market. (was not brave enough to taste these foods – some of the scorpions still wiggled a bit on the skewers and even baby SNAKES too!)

018        016        014        011        013

13 thoughts on “A day I remember

  1. What an amazing day for you! I had a similar experience last year when my husband and I traveled to Guam. We left Guam at 8:00 in the morning, and arrived in San Diego at 7:00 in the morning, on the same day. 🙂 A very long journey, but a fun adventure too! 🙂

    1. Yes, I imagine you enjoyed San Diego & Guam. Beautiful weather always. Too often we feel time slips away from us so it’s neat to get to reclaim a day once in a while right, 🙂

Leave a comment

